A long journey always starts with one step.

Well, it looks like I’m back into the world of blogging again.  I used to have an online journal which I used to chronicle my time as an introvert sitting in front of a computer.  Then I found out the wonderful wide world of being single and going out to meet people, and the blog disappeared.  It’s still around but that’s not the point; I guess this whole past paragraph is a personal slap to the face to make sure I update this journal more than the last one.

The overall point of this journal is to try and find a place where I can jot down random musings, post pictures of good times, and keep people who I know from home up to date as to what I’m doing (Here’s looking at all you people who are on Facebook all day at work!).  I want it to be something that I hopefully can keep going and throughout my travels in the professional world, wherever it may take me.

Wow, two paragraphs and I haven’t even given a full update.  I guess I’m just being verbose for no good reason.

Anyways, so to bring those of you who may not know I recently accepted a job with the firm I work for in Bermuda.  After three years of work in the US in sunny Montvale, I decided that if I wanted to progress in my career I would have to take some drastic measures to get ahead.  This was made obvious for many reasons; the massive layoffs, the salary freezes, and even just the general morale was at an all time low.  It was around October when I went to another “going away party” for a friend of mine named Robb at the Fire and Oak.  I was speaking to him about why he was just picking up and leaving, and how it’s got to be a pretty ballsy thing to do.  I’ve never really put roots down anywhere, but when you’re that far down your road in your career, you have tons of business relationships, colleagues and just relationships in general.

Robb told me that he just felt it was time and that he wanted to do something different.  With that said we did a couple shots and I wished him the best and went home for the night.  I did think it was pretty admirable though to just go out on a limb and say screw it.

Fast-forward about a month, and there was an opening down in Bermuda for someone to essentially manage the project for the application I supported at the time.  I was on the team in the US for about two years at that point, and I just decided to say “screw it” and toss my name in the ring.  After 4 great interviews and an offer letter that gave me a salary that I thought was commiserate to my talent, I accepted the position.

I’ve been out of the country a couple of times before, and usually you have the “countdown”.  It’s when you’re looking at every day and depending on if it’s a good or bad thing that you’re leaving, it can breeze by extremely quick.  For me, the month and a half after I signed my name went by like a flash.  Maybe it was the timing of the year with all the holiday parties, get togethers and the like.  Or perhaps it was just because I was excited to get down here and start work.  Anyways, the weekend of my departure was here before I knew it, and I had a great send off that Friday night.

The party was awesome.   I really thought that there was going to be only a few people who were going to show and I was going to be stuck with the 150$ holding fee.  Well, the party ended up having well over the reserve limit, and while there were some people who couldn’t make it for understandable reasons, it was so great to have so many of my friends together at once to have one last hurrah.  And most importantly, both of my brothers were able to make it.  It’s funny because I remember growing up how much I wanted to go off and do my own thing, without my younger brothers there to ruin my fun.  Now, the older I get the more I want them around (and here come the mushy comments).  I have realized that family is probably one of the most important things in life, and if you can be lucky enough to have a good one you should try to keep close with them as much as possible.

Anyways… so I took the flight down to Bermuda, and let me tell you the first sight was just amazing.  I’ve never been to an island before, so as the plane comes out of a series of clouds, BAM there is Bermuda.  Simply beautiful was the only way I could put it.  When the plane did land, I had a very easy (almost too easy) trip through customs.  After a brief chat with some fellow Americans (who I still need to meet for drinks) I was met at the door by my new PM, and we were off.  And yes, I totally tried to enter the car from the right hand side.   For those of you who aren’t aware, Bermuda drives on the left hand side of the road; so essentially I tried to sit in the driver seat.  Yeah, I’m real worldly right? Right.

The past few weeks at work have been great.  Everyone has been so accommodating, nice and generally helpful that the transition is probably smoother than I could have ever imagined.  And on top of that, I’m enjoying what I’m doing down here!  I’m finally having the chance to step out from behind the desk in a technical role, and start to act more as a liaison between IT and the Audit practice.  I know what you’re thinking; “How could someone actually enjoy meeting after meeting and conference calls to no end, right?”  Well, for me I’ve always been able to be technical and figure out issues.  I’m more at the point of my life where I find more of a challenge in helping pieces of a puzzle come together and seeing the big picture come into focus.  I also enjoy teaching a lot more than I thought I would; I know now that I could have certainly been a good History professor, had I actually pursued it.

So I got a place right on the Beach, about 15 minutes away from town.  The place is huge, kitchen has counter space everywhere and the bedroom is big enough for a King size bed.  It’s a block away from a park here, where I can go running, and the landlord is a very nice woman.  And for some (including me) the price is awesome considering how expensive it can get down here!  I move in the weekend of the 6th and I can’t wait to get it setup so I can start having people over for get togethers.  Then when the summer comes, go out fishing during the day, bring back anything I catch and grill it up on the beach with some people.  Yeah, it’s actually encouraged for you to bring your grill down to the beach and have parties; absolutely awesome.

Yeah, so since I’m going to have to go to the beach this year, it’s well overdue that I get my ass back in shape.  I’ve downloaded a few things via the wonderful world of torrents, and I’m debating joining a gym down here.  Only problem is that it seems that gym prices make them cost prohibitive; I’m talking about $120 a month just for some weights and a couple treadmills.  I’ve been kicking around the idea of getting a home gym but I don’t want to be one of those people staring at a mess of iron/foam/rubber bands and lament the 2 days I used it.  So, I’ll probably end up joining but I’m going to try and haggle a bit as well (apparently it’s the “in” thing to do here).

And of course, I’m going to have to get back in shape if I’m going to be playing Rugby.  I’ve joined a team down here with some people from my job, and I’m looking to just have a good time.  From what I’ve been told it’s a very social scene and a great way to get to know people on the island.  And hell, a sport where I can hit people and have fun?  I’m there!  I just need to make sure that I don’t end up as one of those over the hill men trying to re-live High School glory days a’la Al Bundy.

Well, I think that’s enough for a first post.  Once I get a damned camera (electronics are so damned expensive here) I’ll start adding pictures to liven up the journal a bit.   Until then, hope you enjoyed the read (or I bored you to death and drool is now falling between the f and g keys on your keyboard.  Now to shamelessly plug my new journal on Facebook!

~ by Tom on January 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
