Bikes, Beaches and Bars

Well, with another weekend down, work starts back up tomorrow.  I have to say it was a pretty quiet weekend for the most part, but surpisingly I don’t mind it that much.

I’d tell you to close your eyes and imagine what I’m going to type next, but that wouldn’t work to well would it?  So, this weekend I caved to man’s carnal desire for gas, smoke and horsepower.  I woke up this morning, put on my motorcycle boots, threw on my leather jacket all to the tune of Tom Petty’s “Running down a dream”.  I walked out of my corporate housing (with the music still playing; wouldn’t be very dramatic if when actors moved locations the music stopped, would it?) and sat down on the chopper I rented for the weekend.  I pulled out, popped a wheelie and cruised around the island, leaving those sissy’s on streetbikes in the dust.

That entire last paragraph was a lie. I rented a 50 cc scooter, I had a helmet that looked like a gigantic eggshell, and I had to figure out how to not kill myself when it’s raining.  The first day I had the bike everything was fine, and I could handle staying to the left side of the road (Provided that I kept repeating it to myself) until I got to a round-about, or a circle for the American’s reading this.  Instinctively I went to the right, and that was the wrong thing to do.  The good thing was I realized my mistake pretty much right away, but I picked up and moved the bike back and forth at least a couple times before someone pointed in the right direction and I was on my way.  I spent the rest of the weekend riding around the island, going from Hamilton all the way to Dockyard just to see some more of the island.  It’s strange to see so many different color houses everywhere you look, it almost seems as though you’re looking at a painter’s set of watercolors.  Each building has it’s own personality, from lime green, to pink, to yellow.  It really does make the island stand out and does give it some life.  I don’t think I’ll ever paint my house a color that loud (just not my style), but it is certainly nice to look at.

Riding along south road is certainly something I’d recommend anyone who visits Bermuda does.  At any given moment you’re looking out across water that’s such a beautiful blue it’s as if you’re looking into the eyes of a woman with deep, entrancing azure irises.  I had to a couple times remember I was riding along with cars and other scooters behind me because I was awestruck at the sight.  At any given point, you can stop off at any of the beaches, ride down and just sit and listen to the tranquil sounds of the waves crashing against the coral and the other rock formations on the shore.  There’s actually a part at Warwick long bay beach that looks like it’s out of the Goonies.  Remember the part when Mikey held up the Spanish Doubloon and he saw the three rock formations through the holes in it?  I kid you not, it’s almost exactly the same.  Who knows, maybe I’ll find Chester Copperpot when I go exploring some of the natural caves.  At least there are no Fratellis on the island, because then I’d need to get some slick shoes made.

After eating lunch on a rock by the beach today, I decided to ride up to Dockyard on the western part of the island, just to see what some of the old forts look like.  On the way I passed by the only prison in Bermuda, and it seems as though not much of it’s architecture has changed since it was first built.  Massive stone walls, with moss growing on the mortar, and barb-wire galore.  Overall not as intimidating as an American supermax, but certainly not anywhere that I’d like to stay for any given amount of time.  From what I read, in the 1800’s convicts actually worked on the docks to unload ships as they came in.

After passing by Westgate Correctional Facility, I finally arrived at Dockyard.  There is a small mall at the end of the island with a bunch of shops that have knick-knacks for sale, and the closest thing I’ve seen to an antique shop.  Interesting stuff but certainly expensive.  There’s another fort on the island at Dockyard, which actually has a maritime museum inside of it as well, but sadly it was closed down by the time I got there.   After riding around the area for a bit, it was time to head back to Chateau d’ Rosemont.

I must say, I have a mixed opinion about the bar scene down here.  Perhaps it’s just because I’m used to the large clubs in NYC, but I’m quickly becoming claustrophobic in these small, wanna be clubs.  It’s not too bad if you’re out early enough, but depending on where you are (apparently there is a migration of people from place to place each Friday night) these small places quickly become packed tighter than a frequent flyer’s carryon.  It’s like the Fraternity parties we all used to go to; the bar is soaked in alcohol, people are wasted and just knocking into you all over the place, and everyone is screaming.  Oh, did I forget to add in that people get wasted down here?  Seriously, I’m expecting to find a bar down here where you can do funnels.  Not that I have anything against people getting drunk (hell I’ve got a couple of experiences of being quite drunk myself), but even the women down here get smashed.  However, for some reason I have yet to find someone who actually enjoys Patron shots (Here’s lookin at you F&O crew!).  Seriously, I suggest that we get a round of shots and the grimaces from everyone in the group makes you feel like you’re looking at the faces of gargoyles on an old Gothic style cathedral.  But, grown men will do shots of Buttery nipples  and SoCo and Lime without a moment’s hesitation.

So, when a bar down here is packed to the gills, it gets hot as hell.  I mean, on the equator eating habanero’s while putting a blowtorch to your ass hot.  And this is the winter!  I can only imagine what it’s going to be like in the summer.  I think I’m going to have to get one of those small, AA battery fans that we had as kids to keep cool.  Either that or get the cheesy informercial neck mister.  But, I think I may look more like I’m heading to a Star Trek convention with something like that on.  Oh well, I’ll just have to get acclimated I suppose.

That’s it for now, sorry still don’t have a camera.  Hope you enjoyed your weekend; here’s to having a good week at work!

~ by Tom on January 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
